Video: Portishead's Album THIRD Debuts at #7 on Billboard

Great showing for this long-awaited album.

Posted by Michael Bordash on Wed May 7, 2008

Music News
Portishead’s THIRD, the long-awaited follow up to their 1997 self-titled release, debuted at #7 on Billboard’s Top 200. This is their highest chart rank ever in the U.S. and their first week sales are equal to the debut week of PORTISHEAD (from September 1997) which debuted at #21.

After an 11- year hiatus, Portishead’s THIRD has been receiving rave reviews and has been hailed as an “unexpected yet totally impressive return” by Rolling Stone, and “Worth the wait” by Newsweek. The band made their only U.S. performance April 26 at the Coachella Valley Festival and recently recorded and released a live in-studio performance of seven new tracks on Current TV in the U.S. and UK, titled “Portishead in Portishead.”

Music Video
"Portishead - Machine Gun"

Artist: Portishead
Label: Mercury/Island
Released: April 29, 2008
01 Silence
02 Hunter
03 Nylon Smile
04 The Rip
05 Plastic
06 We Carry On
07 Deep Water
08 Machine Gun
09 Small
10 Magic Doors
11 Threads

Related Links
· Official Portishead Site

Recommended For You

Article Comments