The Orb to Release Bicycles and Tricycles in August

Did you know InternetDJ's favorite electronic album of all time is by The Orb? The godfathers of ambience will release their album Bicycles & Tricycles in August 2004. Full line-up, quotes and tracklisting are right here.

Posted by Michael Bordash on Fri Jun 4, 2004

Music News
Long considered the originators of ambient house music and catalysts to the rise of electronic music in the charts, The Orb are now celebrated for a career of deftly free-spirited, good-humored musical creativity.

The Orb's current line-up of Alex Paterson, Simon Phillips (Prayer Box) and John Roome (Witchman), are joined on 'Bicycles & Tricycles' by collaborators Thomas Fehlmann (That Swiss Fella), Jimmy Cauty (Custerd), Fil (Autolump), Jack Dangers (Meat Beat Manifesto), Soom-T and Erik.

"My motivation comes from having the same desire I did when we first started," explains Alex Paterson, The Orb's main protagonist. Bicycles & Tricycles is an entirely modern effort with a pulse on 21st century dance and leftfield music, and a return to the caliber of innovative recording that brought the band critical and commercial acclaim.

  • From A Distance
  • Land Of Green Ginger
  • Hell's Kitchen
  • Gee Strings
  • Prime Evil
  • Orb Is
  • Aftermath
  • Abstractions
  • L.U.C.A.
  • Tower 23
  • Kompania
  • Dilmun
We'll have more information, including tour dates and samples from their new album shortly. By the way, InternetDJ's favorite electronic album of all time, across all sub-genres, and to date, is Live 93 by The Orb.

Other Links
· Buy The Orb
· Official Orb

Recommended For You

Article Comments