Richie Hawtin Releases 'DE9: Transitions' Album and DVD

The #12 DJ in the world has released his 95-minute minimalist techno collage with Transitions as well as a DVD packed with related footage.

Posted by Michael Bordash on Tue Nov 22, 2005

Music News
Realized in 5.1 surround sound, DE9: Transitions encompasses 95 minutes of minimalist techno. Hawtin has used Abelton Live and ProTools software to strip apart, and then reassemble, his component tracks to make completely new pieces of music, combining multiple elements simultaneously into a constantly shifting collage of sound.

DE9: Transitions has been released as a CD/DVD complete package, including a 75 minute stereo mix (CD) featuring extended 96 minute stereo and 5.1 surround sound versions of the album, as well as high-resolution audio versions, two new videos, an 'About DE9' short film and live footage from Time Warp, the major electronic music event in Germany.

"It's taking a chance, doing a mix CD and giving the tracks my own titles representing what these pieces have become," Hawtin admits. "But I believe it's gone far enough that I can do that. Some people might get pissed about it; we'll see. The CD artwork plays with that; it's a picture of my face which is totally made up of these track names, so it shows you that although this is made by me, I'm no greater or lesser than the information I'm using."

"DE9: Transistions"
Artist: Richie Hawtin
Format: CD+DVD
Label: Novamute / Minus
Released: November 15, 2005
1. Welcomm (In)
2. TZ Entry Point
3. Adding And
4. Subtracting
5. Prebuild
6. Seiltanzer
7. Visioning
8. We (All) Search
9. Jupiter Lander
10. Reduction And
11. Seduction
12. Minimal Master
13. All 4 Du
14. Tonarzt
15. The Tunnel
16. Minimission
17. Noch Nah
18. Weiter Noch
19. Where Is Mayday
20. The Hole
21. (D)ecaying Beauty

Releated Links
Buy DE9: Transitions
Official Richie Hawtin Site

Recommended For You

Article Comments