Louie Vega Releases A Collection of Classics

NYC's own Louie Vega returns with a collection of his classic vinyl in this brand new 2CD set entitled Choice - A Collection of Classics. Take a listen to three full length tracks right here on internetdj.

Posted by Michael Bordash on Thu May 6, 2004

Music News
For the best part of twenty years, Vega the DJ has been blessed with an unfair advantage - the ability to play acetates of his own remixes and productions before anyone else could lay their hands on them. Yet the mixmaster has also drawn in the crowds because of his uncanny ability to select and mix other people's records, and Vega's Choice compilation, which brings together some of his most heavily rotated vinyl in one sublime collection, encapsulates the breadth and depth of his "field of sound".

There was a lot of musical variety back in the days of the Loft, the Gallery, the Garage and Zanzibar," says Vega. "Now everybody plays the four-on-the-floor house beat, but DJs used play four-on-the-floor with funk, jazz, Euro and syncopated rhythms. I mixed all of those things together on this record. I'm very proud of it."

Take a listen to full audio streams below in conjunction with Azuli Records. You can pickup a copy of this album as an LP or CD at Azuli.com.
  1. "I'll Play The Fool" - Dr. Buzzard's Original Savannah Band
  2. "Standing Right Here" - Melba Moore
  3. "You X Me" - Teletronics Ensemble
  4. "Without You" - Touch
  5. "Stand On The Word" - Joubert Singers
  6. "Going Back To My Roots" - Lamont Dozier
  7. *"Spanish Joint" - D'Angelo*
  8. "Atmosphere Strut" - Cloud One
  9. "Hot To Trot" - Alfredo De La Fe
  10. "Don't Go Away" - Affinity
  11. *"Melting Pot" - Booker T and the MGs*
  12. "Bra" (Dance Ritual Session/Danny Krivit Edit) - Cymande {WMV|REAL}
  13. *"Umi Says" - Mos Def*
  14. "You Can Do It (Baby)" - Nuyorican Soul Feat. George Benson
  15. "Draggin' My Heels" - The Hollies
  1. "Could Heaven Ever Be Like This" - Idris Muhammed
  2. "Bostich" - Yello
  3. "Take A Chance" - Pleasure
  4. "Standing In Line" - ESG
  5. "Get On The Funk Train" - Munich
  6. "It's Good For The Soul" - Salsoul Orchestra {WMV|REAL}
  7. "Dancer" - Gino Soccio
  8. "I Wanna Rock You" - Giorgio Moroder
  9. "East Street Beat" - Chocolate
  10. "Time Warp/Nobody's Got Time" - Coach House Section (Eddy Grant)
  11. "No Way Back" - Adonis
  12. "Din Da Da" - George Kranz
  13. "It's You" - ESP
  14. "Rich In Paradise" - FPI Project
  15. "Tittle Tattle" - Baricentro
  16. "Magnificent Dance" - The Clash {WMV|REAL}

Other Links
Louie Vega @ Azuli Records
Louie Vega @ Amazon

Recommended For You

Article Comments