Defected Presents :: 20 Years of Def Mix Classics on Three CDs

Featuring remixes of UK 'Lemon', Jamiroquai 'Space Cowboy' and Mariah Carey 'Dreamlover'

Posted by Michael Bordash on Fri Oct 26, 2007

Music News
The Def Mix crew – David Morales, Frankie Knuckles, Satoshi Tomiie and Hector Romero – are the most prolific and successful production team in the history of House music. Frankie Knuckles invented House music, David Morales invented the remix, they have a Grammy award to their name, and between them have produced some of the most seminal dancefloor moments of all time.

Now, the entire Def Mix crew have collaborated for the first time to present us with an album that celebrates their 20th anniversary at the cutting edge of electronic music.

Video Interview
Watch - The entire Def Mix crew on one sofa is a rarely beheld sight. Check out this fascinating interview and watch them in action behind the decks at this year’s WMC in Miami.

"Def Mix Classics"
Mixed By: David Morales, Frankie Knuckles, Satoshi Tomiie and Hector Romero
Released: October 29, 2007
Label: Defected
Audio Sampler: Listen
Disc One
1. Dreamlover-Mariah Carey [Def Club Mix]
2. Space Cowboy-Jamiroquai [Morales Classic Club Mix]
3. My Peace Of Heaven-Ten City [International 12'' Mix]
4. Tears-Frankie & Satoshi [Classic Club Mix]
5. Lemon-U2 [Badyard Club Mix]
6. Let Me Show You Love-Romanthony [Erotic Mix]
7. I'll Be Your Friend-Robert Owens [Original Def Mix]
8. Don't Lose The Magic-Shawn Christopher [12'' Mix]
9. Strobelite Honey-Black Sheep [The Def Version]
10. Love In Traffic-Satoshi Tomiie Feat. Kelli Ali [3D Private Path]
11. Show Me-Urban Soul [Def Club Mix]
12. Philadelphia-Brooklyn Friends [Original Demo]
13. The Whistle Song-Frankie Knuckles
Disc Two
1. Whatcha Gonna Do With My Lovin'-Inner City [Def Mix]
2. Hanging On A String-Loose Ends [Classic Club Mix]
3. I'll Be Waiting-Clive Griffin [Morales Dance Mix]
4. Always There-Incognito [12'' Mix]
5. Where Love Lives (Come On In)-Alison Limerick [Classic Mix]
6. Whatever Makes You Happy-Ten City [New York City Mix]
7. Finally-Ce Ce Peniston [Choice Mix]
8. Unbreak My Heart-Toni Braxton
9. I Want You-Starpoint [Red Zone Mix]
10. Closer Than Close-Rosie Gaines [Frankie Knuckles Classic Club Mix]
11. The Pressure-Sounds Of Blackness [Frankie Knuckles Classic Mix]
12. Needin' You-The Face [Original Mix]
13. In Da Ghetto-David Morales [Backyard Club Mix]
14. Mine To Give-Photek [David Morales World Mix]
15. Dreamin'-Loleatta Holloway [Satoshi Shellshock Reconstruction]
Disc Three
1. Never Stop-Brand New Heavies
2. It's Hard Sometimes-Frankie Knuckles [DM Classic Club Mix]
3. Not Gonna Change-Swing Out Sister [Classic Club Version]
4. Talkin' With Myself’-Electribe 101 [Extended Mix]
5. The Boss-Diana Ross [David Morales BYC Mix]
6. Sky High-Individual [ST Interpretation]
7. Who Do You Love-Deborah Cox [12'' Mix]
8. Remembering-Simply Red [Classic 12'' Mix]
9. Plastic Dreams-Jaydee [Def Mix]
10. Bela Horizonte-Heartists [Boss Club Mix]

Related Links
· Pre Order Def Mix Classics
· Official Defected Site

Recommended For You

Article Comments