Club Azuli Launches New Year with First Rate Mix

Two discs of popular and upcoming house to get you ready for Spring.

Posted by Michael Bordash on Mon Jan 29, 2007

Music News
Over the years, Azuli has released some decent mixes, and have established themselves as a fair player in the market of dance singles and mix releases. This third installment of the Club Azuli series, 'Club Azuli 3 – The Future Sound of the Dance Underground', judged by the selection presented, is their best to date and represents a high-energy start to the year. However, What is still missing is defined series leadership by either a well-known DJ entity or one who's stock is on the rise.

Without the aforementioned leadership, the mixing effort leaves much to be desired with basic beat-matching and common effects, yet we still love the warmth the first disc provides during this cold winter. The second disc takes it down a notch, but enjoyable nonetheless. We enjoyed every track here; some of the standouts include the Vandalism remix of 'The Creeps (You Give Me)' by Freaks, the Ben Macklin remix of Tim Andresen's 'Everybody', and one of our recent favorites 'Aqualight' by Léger & Lake. Although, we much prefer the uptempo feel of disc one, disc two contains some memorable moments, like the haunting Twin Peaks melody found in the remix of Moby's 'Go'.

"Club Azuli 3"
Format: 2 Disc Mixed/Unmixed
Label: Azuli Records
Released: February 12, 2007
Our Rating: (4/5)
1. Freaks - The Creeps (You’re Giving Me) (Vandalism Remix)
2. Basement Jaxx – Take Me Back To Your House (Kurd Maverick Mix)
3. Tyken feat. Awa - Every Word (Tykens Jonsered Fabrik Mix)
4. Guy Gerber & Sholmi Aber - After Love
5. Noferini - Sex
6. Tim Andresen - Everybody (Ben Macklin Remix)
7. Stereo Scum – Let’s Get Dirty (Electro Mix)
8. Léger & Lake - Aqualight
9. Dennis Ferrer - Transitions
10. Mark Knight - Susan
11. Fedde Le Grand presents: Flamingo – Take no Shhh
12. DJ Oliver & Irtaman presents – MOVEELEK - Fake
13. Pryda – Remember
1. Outwork feat. Mr Gee - Electro Love (The Cube Guys ‘Delano’ Remix)
2. Eric Laville & J.M. Sicky – Unknown (Ricksick Original Mix)
3. Johannes Heil – The Magaician
4. Booka Shade - Darko
5. Audiojack - Robot
6. Audion - Mouth To Mouth
7. Kamisshake – Getting Stronger
8. DJ Rooster and Sammy Peralta - I Like It Dirty (Funkatronik Mix)
9. Moby - Go
10. Smash TV - Air
11. Mistress Barbara - Barcelona
12. Audiofly X – Mind Goes Blank

Club Azuli will also kick-off a worldwide tour in February reaching destinations from Sydney to Dubai. The tour includes dates at Club Azuli’s residency at The Cross in London, the next one being on 17th February with Xpress 2.

Related Links
· Official Azuli Records Site

Recommended For You

Article Comments