Bedrock Records presents The Japanese Popstars new album Disconnect/Reconnect

Listen to the first single right here.

Posted by Michael Bordash on Sat Jul 13, 2013

Music News

HARDER... DARKER... STRONGER... 'Disconnect/Reconnect' is the third studio album from The Japanese Popstars, and the first new music since 2012's IMS anthem, 'Matter Of Time' (featuring Green Velvet), caught the ears of Laurent Garnier, Francois K, Carl Cox and John Digweed, who promptly signed TJP to his Bedrock label.

After flirting with major label success via an album deal with Virgin/EMI Records and getting to work with their heroes including The Cure's Robert Smith, The Japanese Popstars have returned to the underground and the sound that first brought them so much attention. Now a duo, aka Gary Curran and Gareth Donoghue, they're once again making the music they love.

At the core of The Japanese Popstars is the contrast between the dark and the light, and while 'Disconnect/Reconnect' is brimming with tough, punchy techno, it features the occasional moment of blissful electronica that punctuated earlier albums such as 'We Just Are'. Ultimately built for dark rooms and nocturnal festival shows, 'Disconnect/Reconnect' is a back to basics release that finds The Japanese Popstars' gaze fixed firmly on the future.


  1. Disconnect/Reconnect
  2. Matter Of Time feat Green Velvet
  3. No Music
  4. Pump Power
  5. Out Of No Where
  6. Night Shift
  7. Vision
  8. The Dealer
  9. Heavy Hitter
  10. Release feat Ryan Vail

Watch: The Japanese Popstars - Disconnect/Reconnect

Recommended For You

Article Comments