Armand Van Helden to Release New Sex Record "Ghettoblaster"

AVH makes triumphant return with a trip back to dance music's roots.

Posted by Michael Bordash on Mon Apr 2, 2007

Music News
Armand Van Helden's latest album "Ghettoblaster" is released on April 24, 2007 on Ultra Records. As the name suggests, AVH will take you on a ride back to the roots of dance music. Says Armand, "On this album I was going for a retro throwback 1985-89 soul up-tempo urban type sound. Chicago meets Miami meets New York City kind of thing. Or to put it differently, house meets freestyle meets hip-house meets club meets new wave."

Armand seems to want people to remember, or attempt to experience, what it was like before "underground" dance music became a mainstream kind of thing; tie-ing together all of the attempts at retro sound that has been pumping out of the clubs lately. "The snare sounds Prince used, the keyboards from Expose and those old 808 drums, I've noticed them coming back. I keep my ear to the street."

"Iím not fascinated by intelligence, I donít get a kick out of minimal techno. I donít want my music to be intelligent. I like making sex records." We are definitely looking forward to this release.

"Ghetto Blaster"
Artist: Armand Van Helden
Format: CD
Label: Ultra Records
Released: April 24, 2007
1. Go Crazy! (feat. Majida)
2. Touch Your Toes (feat. Fat Joe & Bl)
3. I Want Your Soul
4. NYC Beat
5. Playing House (feat. Kudu)
6. This Ain't Hollywood (feat. Will 'Tha Wiz' Lemay)
7. Still In Love (feat. Karmen)
8. Playmate (feat. Roxy Cottontail + Lacole 'Tigga' Campbell)
9. Je T'aime (feat. Nicole Roux)
10. To Be A Freak (feat. George Llanes)
11. All Nite (feat. La Roka)
12. A Track Called Jack

Related Links
Armand Van Helden Artist Site

Recommended For You

Article Comments